I’m sat in my slowly darkening room with no electricity because there is some sort of maintenance work being done on our road (and our house is conveniently the only one affected). I have enough laptop charge to write this, although I won’t be able to post it until the power comes back on because the internet is down. That’s not really very important though, because it struck me this afternoon just how cushy our lives really are, and how much we take for granted. Also, how selfish it’s making us, sat here in our privileged little world of small concerns.

I love my housemates, I really do, but they reminded me today of something that it’s so easy to forget: we are lucky. Life may not be perfect, but no matter what your story is, you could be so much worse off. I’ll admit that my first thoughts when I heard the electricity was going to be turned off were selfish; wondering whether I’d charged my laptop, thankful it wasn’t dark yet, thinking about how I’m going to cook dinner etc. My friends were the same, complaining about not being able to cook or use the internet. I’m not proud of the way my thoughts jumped so immediately to such trivial matters. I quickly snapped myself out of it, but the scary thing is how subconscious this way of thinking is to us.

We have so much to be thankful for: homes, food, education, health care, a feeling of safety, opportunities. There are so many people in the world who don’t have any of these things, and yet we take them for granted. I know you’re thinking, yeah, heard this all before, but how often do you actually stop and consider how lucky you really are? We’re conditioned against really understanding the message behind the words, and too often they remain just that: empty words.

So, I’m sat here in my now-quite-dark room, reminded of everything I have to be thankful for. I’m going to try to hold on to this feeling in my everyday life, and take a more positive attitude towards people and situations. I hope you’ll  do the same.

