I really wanted to share this because I can’t stop listening to it. On repeat. All day. In fact, pretty much everything Gabrielle Aplin sings has my happy music beans jumping around inside me. You might have heard this cover of  Frankie Goes to Hollywood’s The Power of Love on the 2012 John Lewis Christmas advert. It is simply stunning:

I’ve been listening to Gabrielle for a while now, and even managed to get my very top-40 sister to listen to, and buy, her music. This is unheard of, because it’s an unspoken rule that anything I like is lame and uncool and nerdy (the latter is not an entirely unfounded accusation).

I couldn’t help thinking today how great it is to see someone making something of herself, for herself. Youtube is becoming an increasingly valuable platform for aspiring musicians, and it’s heartening to see that determination and persistence pay off. As of this moment, The Power of Love is at number 9number 8 (in the time it has taken me to write this, the song has climbed another place) in the iTunes charts… it’s been rising through the charts all day.

Obviously, listen and go and buy her music. Not just the single, but also her previous self-produced EPs which can be found on iTunes for a very small amount. More than that though, this has made me think a lot about my own approach to myself and to my career. I think many of us need to be more proactive and take the opportunities that are available to us instead of sitting around and waiting for things to happen. Dare to dream, but don’t forget to go out there and make it happen. No one else will do it for us.

I’m going to leave you with one of my favourites of her original songs:

