We Were Liars

image from Goodreads because my own copy is at home 😦

review originally posted on my Goodreads on 27th May 2014

I had high expectations for We Were Liars due to all the social media promotion in the weeks and months up to its release. First of all I almost had a melt down in the bookshop because I thought they didn’t have it, but then I saw it on a stand all of its own so crisis averted! When I finally got it home and started reading, I tried not to let those high expectations get in the way of enjoying the story. I needn’t have worried because within a few pages I was hooked. The characters were well written and likeable, I loved the prose-poetry style of certain sections, and way everything just slots together even when you don’t realise it at the time.

Of course, the biggest thing everyone’s talking about with regards to We Were Liars is the plot twist. I’m fairly good at working things out before they happen in books, but I missed this completely, and then.. wham. Honestly, it’s hard to know what to say about this book because it’s an experience best had with little prior knowledge, in my opinion. When I finished, the first thing I wanted to do was to start over and immerse myself further in E. Lockhart’s world.

Instead I lent my copy to my younger sister, because I’m nice like that, but I’ll be making sure I get it back ASAP.

