Every year I fall into the trap of setting myself wildly unrealistic resolutions, despite knowing that I never really work well with vague goals (“be more healthy”/”write more”) or strict daily targets which put me under too much pressure (“cut out all unhealthy foods”/”write 1000 words every day”). The result of this is that I inevitably fail because I’m too stressed, or too tired, or I simply lose all motivation. So, this year I only have one goal: to be happier.

I realise this might sound like one of those horrible vague resolutions I mentioned previously, but the difference is that happiness is a mental game as much as it is dependent on circumstances. Overall, 2014 was not a fantastic year for me. It was a very stressful, uncertain year; it was a period of transition between university and the world beyond university, and I haven’t really adjusted well. I miss my friends, I miss studying and learning, and I miss being busy. I have struggled between recognising that life isn’t fair, and still being a believer in making your own luck (to an extent, anyway).

I want 2015 to be my year for new beginnings. I want 2015 to be the year I take back control and stop waiting for good things to happen to me, because they’re not going to happen all on their own. I also have a lot of smaller goals such as moving out of my parents’ house, joining a choir, writing more poetry, writing more blog posts, eating less refined sugar, being better at keeping in contact with loved ones etc. but I’m realistic enough to know that, despite my best intentions, I will probably not do all of these things as much or as well as I would like to. That’s okay with me. None of this will happen overnight. I’m not foolish enough to think that I will manage to be happy all of the time, but I am going to try to see the positive side of everything and to enjoy every moment as much as possible. I hope 2015 is a good year for us all.

Happy New Year!

