I’m really happy I decided to participate in the read-a-thon this week. I might not be reading extraordinary numbers of pages, but it is giving me some motivation to read a substantial amount every single day rather than just a few pages before I fall asleep (which sometimes happens when I’m not travelling to and from work as that’s the time I usually spend reading).

I have finished A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson which was recommended to me by a friend. I really enjoyed it to start with, but it was starting to drag towards the end so I’m glad to have finished it.

I then read Half Bad by Sally Green, pretty much in two sittings, which is something I haven’t done for a while now. I loved this so much! I won’t say more than that for now, as I have full reviews of both these books to come, but definitely a great start to the year reading-wise!

bryson coverhalf bad coveropposite loneliness cover

Now I’m about half-way through Marina Keegan’s The Opposite of Loneliness which is a posthumous collection of essays and short stories. Her writing is honest and open and complicated and heartbreaking; it is everything I want my own writing to be. I haven’t finished this yet, but already I know I will be revisiting this over and over.

Pages read: 177

Total pages read: 532

I’m beginning to think I might need to choose another couple of books to add to my reading list this week as I fully intend to finish The Opposite of Loneliness today. Usually I feel drawn to a particular book on my TBR pile, but I’m not feeling anything in particular today. I’m sort of choosing between:

  • Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell
  • The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton
  • The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

If anyone has any thoughts on any of these which might help me make a decision then please let me know! Failing that, I’ll just go with whatever feels right at the time. It might be one of those, or something completely different!

