Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I probably won’t do this every week, but I’m going to try to do as many as possible.

Here are ten books I meant to read this year, but didn’t get around to (in no particular order):

1. The Girl With All The Gifts by M. R. Carey – This is not a book I know a lot about, but it looks intriguing and I know it’s really popular. For some reason I didn’t get as far as actually buying it and reading it in 2014, but it’s definitely on my list.

2. We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler – Again, not one I’ve heard much about, but it was shortlisted for the Man Booker prize, and has been really popular with customers (I’m a bookseller). With the promise of a looping narrative and a mystery to solve, it sounds right up my street.

3. The Guest Cat by Takashi Hiraide – I’ll admit, mainly for the cover, but also because I don’t consciously read enough fiction in translation.

4. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – I keep debating whether to read this and I’m not sure if it’s too romance-centric for my taste. I probably will read it at some point, but it’s not too high on my list of reading priorities.

5. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton – I actually have a copy of this sat on my shelf waiting to read. The blurb just really reminded me of Nights at the Circus by Angela Carter, if only for the girl with wings, and I’m intrigued to see what this is about.

Screenshot 2015-01-13 21.13.346The Girl Who Walked on Air by Emma Carroll – I attended an event at Bath Children’s Literature Festival where Carroll spoke about and read from this book, and I really enjoyed what I heard.

7. Moriarty by Anthony Horowitz – I haven’t read the first book, House of Silk, but I do keep meaning to pick them both up. As I haven’t done so yet, I’ll probably wait until this comes out in paperback so that I can have them both in the same format… I’m fussy, okay?

8. This Book is Gay by James Dawson – This is a work of non-fiction and I’ve heard nothing but good things about it. Also, this cover is awesome.

9. Bad Feminist by Roxanne Gay – One of my goals for the last six months has been to read more non-fiction. I’m really interested in contemporary feminism, particularly the role and impact of online spaces so this sounds perfect.

10. Tape by Steven Camden – I was initially drawn to the cover, but am also intrigued by the sense of nostalgia created through the cassette tape. Perhaps another one I’ll read when the paperback is released.

I actually read a fair number of new releases this year and anything I was really desperate to read I did, so this was more difficult that I thought it would be! If you’ve read any of the books on my list and have any thoughts on them, please comment and let me know.

