toptentuesday2Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Since this week is a freebie week, and I’ve been thinking a lot recently about my book collection and how there are books I got rid of on a whim but now regret giving away, here are my top ten books I wish I’d kept:

1. The Doomspell Trilogy by Cliff McNish – okay, so this is technically three books which I suppose is cheating a bit, but oh well! I bought these at a market stall when I was probably about nine or ten years old and read them numerous times. I don’t know why I ever thought getting rid of them was a good idea…

2. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead – I read this back in 2009 and enjoyed it, but I never continued with the series because I was sort of losing interest in the supernatural genre which was so big at the time. As I had no interest in reading the rest of the series, I got rid of this, but I’d like to give it another go.

3. Fun Home by Alison Bechdel – this is one of the only graphic novels I have ever read and it was for my university course. I underestimated it’s importance and impact and sold it so that I could afford to buy the following year’s books (poor student problems). I would have liked it in my collection now.

4. Heartland: Coming Home by Lauren Brooke – I loved this series and read them all multiple times, but sadly a series of 20 books takes up a lot of shelf space.

5. The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis – I used to have a beautiful hardback copy of the complete Chronicles with colour illustrations. My grandma borrowed it when she came to stay with us and proceeded to lose it.

6. I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter – okay, so this was technically my younger sister’s copy which I borrowed and read. I enjoyed it, but apparently not enough to save it when she threw it out… had I known I’d work with children’s books back then, I probably would have rescued it.

7. The Complete Tales of Winnie the Pooh by A. A. Milne – I had a gorgeous red hardback collection edition with the original illustrations and I have no idea what happened to it.

8. Watership Down by Richard Adams – I never actually finished this. I used it for World Book Day when I was nine though, dressing up as Matilda – it was one of the thickest books I owned at the time!

9. The Malory Towers series by Enid Blyton – this doesn’t really need an explanation.

10. The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke – I kept Inkheart and Dragon Rider, but now I can’t even remember the plot of Thief Lord. Another one I could have done with keeping given that I now work with children’s books.

These are mostly children’s books because I’ve become wiser and I no longer get rid of books the way I apparently did when I was younger. I’m pretty sure that’s down to the fact that I no longer have to hand them down to my younger sisters and so I get the final decision on whether I keep them or not!

Do you have any books you threw away or donated, but wish you’d kept?

