toptentuesday2Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I have never been part of a bookclub. I didn’t really need one whilst I was at university as I had more than enough reading/discussion of books through my course, and now I live in the country and could not get to one regularly. I have considered online book clubs but I haven’t yet come across one I’m particularly keen to join. Here are ten books I’d love to read/discuss with a book club, if I was part of one.

1. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling – this had to be top of my list, because I love discussing Harry Potter and I can’t think of a better way to spend an hour or so! I chose OotP because it’s the longest book, and my favourite, but also the one most people say is their least favourite, so I would have fun trying to show people why it’s the best.

alice and the fly
Image from Waterstones.com

2. Alice and the Fly by James Rice – I’ve heard so many good things about this book and, from what I know, it covers some pretty deep themes so would be great for discussion. (Also, I need someone to talk to about how utterly gorgeous that cover is!)

3. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – I need some motivation to actually read this, and having company might just do the trick. Otherwise, it’s going to stay on my mental ‘books I want to read before I die’ list forever.

4. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – again, I’ve heard a lot of good things about this, but haven’t quite got as far as reading it yet. I’m not entirely sure it’s really my thing, but I do hope to read it at some point.

5. Double Negative by Ivan Vladislavic – I read Portrait With Keys during my final year at university and fell in love with it. I would love to read something else by him and even better if I had people to talk about it with. His writing is the type of writing that deserves to be discussed.

6. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams – another one on my mental TBR list. I think everyone’s read this except me though, so it might not be the best choice for a book club…

7. Dart by Alice Oswald – I don’t know how many book clubs read poetry collections, but it seemed a shame not to have one on this list. Alice Oswald is one of my favourite poets, and poetry’s always better with more eyes and ears.

8. The House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz – I mentioned previously that I want to read this series and if I read them as part of a book club then we could legitimately talk about the BBC’s Sherlock series, right? You know, for a rounded discussion.

image from waterstones.com
image from waterstones.com

9. A Boy Called Hope by Lara Williamson – I’d love to read this with a children’s book group. I’m a sucker for books about family and this keeps catching my eye.

10. My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece by Annabelle Pitcher – first of all, that title is one of my favourite titles ever. Secondly, this is a book about grief and family, but it’s told from a male perspective which is something I haven’t really come across before in this type of story. Although death is a difficult topic to discuss with a group, I think it’s important that we do discuss it, and there’s no better way than through books.

I’m aware this is a bit of an eclectic mix and I’d probably have to join about 4 different book groups to cover all these books, but if there was one book group that read this widely and just happened to cover all of my personal tastes then that would be awesome!

