US Cover - image from Goodreads
US Cover – image from Goodreads

I received this book as an uncorrected proof copy through my job as a bookseller.

Grace is a lost cause. At least, that’s what she’s been told. After witnessing her mother’s death at the age of thirteen, Grace is convinced it was murder despite the records stating otherwise. When she goes to stay with her grandfather, the US ambassador, on Embassy Row, the presence of a man with a scar starts to trigger her memories of that night. She enlists the help of her friends to solve the mystery of her mother’s death, but soon discovers it’s all part of a much larger plot.

Having read a few of Carter’s novels before, I was interested to try this, although it’s not something I would usually pick up. The protagonist, Grace, is a strong-willed and independent teenager who is very sure in her beliefs despite not being able to remember clearly what happened that night. It is refreshing to see a strong female protagonist who doesn’t need a boy to save her – in fact, she does much of the saving for herself. That said, I felt that the supporting and minor characters were under-developed and I cannot really remember much about them at all. I think this might be down to the fact that this is the first in a series and hopefully we will learn more about all these secondary characters as the series progresses.

UK Cover - image from Waterstones
UK Cover – image from Waterstones

For me, this falls into the category of an easy read – enjoyable enough, but not particularly memorable or hard-hitting. I would recommend it for younger readers, perhaps those just starting to read young adult books.

Overall, an enjoyable read with an interesting premise. I’m looking forward to seeing where the series goes from here.

All Fall Down was released on the 20th January in the US and will be published on the 5th February in the UK.

