toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week I’m listing my top ten favourite heroines.

1. Hermione Granger, Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling – I couldn’t make a list of favourite heroines without putting Hermione right at the top. She is unashamedly smart, logical, brave, and an unwaveringly loyal friend. I think I identified with Hermione a lot when I was younger (not for the smart, brave, good friend parts, but) because she was a bit of an outsider and struggled to fit in, and I felt a lot of pressure to fit in when I was at school.

Matilda2. Matilda Wormwood, Matilda by Roald Dahl – Matilda is another girl I definitely related to as a child. Unfortunately, I didn’t have superpowers but I did love reading and even dressed up as Matilda for World Book Day when I was nine.

3. Lucy PevensieThe Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis – I’m cheating a little, because I haven’t read the entire series and I remember the films a lot more clearly than I do the books, but it still counts. Lucy is the type of person I want to be: kind, loyal, certain in her beliefs, brave enough to do what she believes to be right.

4. Jenna, The Darkweaver Legacy by Mark Robson – It always surprises me that these books aren’t more widely known. I walked into a W H Smith store with my mum when I was about ten years old and he happened to be signing copies of his books. My mum kindly bought me the set of four and Mark signed them and wrote some lovely messages in the front. Jenna is a strong female character who makes her presence known in very male-dominated surroundings. She excels and proves that she is just as good, if not better, than the men around her. We later see her softer side, and she’s just a wonderfully balanced and well-rounded character.

5. Lirael, Lirael and Abhorsen by Garth Nix – Lirael is an outsider within her own family and must find her path by herself. She spends a fair amount of time feeling sorry for herself but then she manages to turn it around and finds her true place through her own curiosity, determination, and courage.

6 & 7. Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong, Murder Most Unladylike and Arsenic for Tea by Robin Stevens – Daisy Wells is the pretty, popular, secretly smart president of the Detective Society and Hazel is her devoted co-founder and secretary. Whilst Daisy is the one in charge, it is Hazel who really holds everything together. She can be a bit of a follower, but she’s also much more likely to hold an objective viewpoint. I really like both of these modern-day Nancy Drews.

the famous five

8 & 9. George and Anne, The Famous Five by Enid Blyton – These two characters are very different; George wants to act like a boy whereas Anne is happy to be a girl. George is brave and determined whilst Anne is intelligent, logical, and also brave – perhaps the bravest of the five because she is the most scared.

10. Lyra Belacqua, His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman – I was really late to the game with this trilogy, but from the start I found myself  immersed in Lyra’s narrative. She’s intelligent, strong-willed, and able to maintain a childlike innocence despite the weight of her responsibilities.

I’m sure there are so many great female characters I’ve missed from this list, but these were the first ten to come to mind. Let me know your favourites in the comments or feel free to link to your own TTT list for this week.

