Image from bookriot.com
Image from bookriot.com

I’ve probably mentioned this before, but I’m at least partly a mood reader. Now, what this means to me is that I choose which book to read next based on how I’m feeling at that particular moment rather than going by a pre-set list or order of reading. For example, at the time of writing, I am about halfway through The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton which is an enjoyable read, but it’s fairly complex in its narrative style and content. Yesterday I felt like reading something easy and immersive so I loaned the ebook of Divergent by Veronica Roth from my local library service.

Every now and then I go through phases where no matter how many unread books I currently own, I only want to fall back on a familiar story. I’ll pick up a Harry Potter book or reread The Darkweaver Legacy by Mark Robson or something similar. When I’m in that kind of mood it has to be something I read as a child, and also something I’ve read a number of times. I need to lose myself in the story, enjoy remembering the details I’d forgotten and discovering new details I hadn’t noticed before without the pressure of following the storyline.

Most recently, I decided to revisit the stories of The Famous Five series by Enid Blyton. I no longer own any of the books so I had to settle for listening to the free abridged audiobooks we got free with a newspaper a few years ago and watching the 1995 TV series on YouTube. There was something so comforting about the familiar characters and well-loved stories that new material just couldn’t offer me. I intend to reread as many of the books as possible when I can afford to re-buy them or can get to the library to borrow them.

Are you a mood reader? Which books do you fall back on when you need familiarity and comfort?

