I’m borrowing this idea from Jane Emily over at Beyond Seventeen Reviews. These are books I would love not only to read, but also to own at some point. Here are a few of the books currently on my wishlist:

1. The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

the art of being normal

Two boys. Two secrets. David Piper has always been an outsider. His parents think he’s gay. The school bully thinks he’s a freak. Only his two best friends know the real truth – David wants to be a girl. On the first day at his new school Leo Denton has one goal – to be invisible. Attracting the attention of the most beautiful girl in year 11 is definitely not part of that plan. When Leo stands up for David in a fight, an unlikely friendship forms. But things are about to get messy. Because at Eden Park School secrets have a funny habit of not staying secret for long …

Everyone is talking about this book, and I mean everyone. If I wasn’t on a mission to half my TBR list and pretty much on a self-imposed book buying ban then I would have this in my arms already and we would be so happy…

2. No Matter the Wreckage by Sarah Kay

no matter the wreckage

I mentioned a few days ago how much I love spoken word poetry and one of my favourite spoken word poets is Sarah Kay. A whole book of her poetry? Yes, please.

3. Alice and the Fly by James Rice

alice and the fly

Perfect for fans of Nathan Filer’s THE SHOCK OF THE FALL and Mark Haddon’s THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME, comes the book of the year…A spellbinding first novel by a British author about how obsessions and phobias can upend your entire life. This is a book about phobias and obsessions, isolation and dark corners. It’s about families, friendships, and carefully preserved secrets. But above everything else it’s about love. Finding love – in any of its forms – and nurturing it. Miss Hayes has a new theory. She thinks my condition’s caused by some traumatic incident from my past I keep deep-rooted in my mind. As soon as I come clean I’ll flood out all these tears and it’ll all be ok and I won’t be scared of Them anymore. The truth is I can’t think of any single traumatic childhood incident to tell her. I mean, there are plenty of bad memories – Herb’s death, or the time I bit the hole in my tongue, or Finners Island, out on the boat with Sarah – but none of these are what caused the phobia. I’ve always had it. It’s Them. I’m just scared of Them. It’s that simple.

I have mentioned wanting to read this book before, and with a cover as gorgeous as this one I would love to see it on my shelves.

Which books are currently on your wishlist?

Advertisements