toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week I’m listing my top ten favourite books I read in the last three years:

1. More Than This by Patrick Ness – I keep going on about this book, but it was my first experience of Ness’ writing and I found it to be complex, masterfully written, and it made me think. What more could you ask for?

2. The Book Thief by Markuz Zusak – I know, I’m way behind everyone with this one, but I read this about two years ago, pretty much in one sitting. I think I left it to attend one of my few contact hours at uni and then read until I finished it, with tears and that sense of breathlessness that comes with the final pages of a good book.

3. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – The book we were all waiting for but didn’t know we needed. I loved this book and felt a definite connection with the characters and the portrayal of fan culture. Apparently there’s an a sequel of sorts coming out in October of this year, so I’m looking forward to that.

4. Portrait With Keys by Ivan Vladislavic – This was by far one of the best books I read for my degree. For some reason it had a lasting impact on me and I hope to read some of his other work at some point.

5. The Waves by Virginia Woolf – Another course reading list book, but one that I loved. I found it completely immersive and beautiful and I didn’t understand 90% of it, but I’m okay with that.

6. Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill – I only finished this recently but I honestly believe it’s one of the most important books to come out of YA in a while. It’s not perfect – what book is? – but it’s bold and downright scary in how close it comes to the truth.

7. Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood – This was the last novel I read for university, in my penultimate term, and I think by that point I’d started to realise what I was losing and made it my goal to thoroughly enjoy every minute of time I got to discuss this book with my class group. I actually really enjoyed it and there’s so much to say about it. I’m not sure I’ll read the ‘sequels’ though. Part of me feels like dystopia works best as a stand-alone.

8. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – Another one I go on about a lot. For good reason, though.

9. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – As cliched as it is, this book is sort of what helped me fall back into reading YA. For a while, I read almost exclusively adult fiction, but then I watched Green’s YouTube channel and discovered booktube and although this may not have been the first YA book I picked up again (I genuinely don’t remember), I feel that it is, in some small way, responsible for the entire trajectory of my life right now. That’s quite a lot to put on a book, I suppose.

10. Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling – Forever one of my favourite series, this has been my go-to comfort read for so many years. I dip in and out at random points in the series and whenever I watch one of the films I get this urge to reread the books.

What are your favourite books from the past three years? Let me know in the comments, or link me to your own TTT post.

