Last week I posted by February wrap-up in which I claimed to have read ten books in the month of February. The truth is that I’ve been away since the 22nd February and only got back last night so I scheduled all my blog posts before I left. Since writing that post, I actually read a number of other books which I didn’t include so I thought I’d put together a part 2 for my February wrap-up with the books I read between the 22nd and 28th February!

11. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton – I’ve mentioned this a couple of times before and finally got around to reading it. It was strange, and very sad, and definitely beautifully written. It’s rare to see literary works come out of YA, at least in terms of what is popular, but this is fantastic and also has a definite crossover appeal for adult readers.

paper aeroplanes12. Paper Aeroplanes by Dawn O’Porter – Hot Key Books is one of my favourite YA imprints and I’ve heard an awful lot about this book. This is a bold and honest portrayal of two teenage girls with very different backgrounds. A must-read. (Note: contains some strong language and mature themes so possibly not suitable for younger readers.)

13 and 14. Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief and Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan – These are the first two books in the Percy Jackson series and are based on mythological gods. Percy is a half-blood, son of Poseidon and a human mother, and he is thrust unexpectedly into the world of the gods where finds himself at the centre of a prophecy. Providing he lives to see his sixteenth birthday, that is.

15. Goose by Dawn O’Porter – This is the sequel to Paper Aeroplanes, set two years later. Flo and Renee are now doing their A Levels and trying to work out what comes next, but will their plans allow them to stick together?

16. The Manifesto on How to be Interesting by Holly Bourne – I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised by this novel after reading a couple of not-so-positive reviews. The premise is intriguing with Bree the young writer struggling with rejection and turning to a blog as a platform for her thoughts. The novel has been compared to Mean Girls and I can certainly see where those comparisons come from as they both follow the same infiltration of the popular crowd storyline. It’s not going to make you ponder the meaning of life, but this is a well written light-hearted read for those times when you just want to curl up with a book.

That’s it! For real this time. I actually read 16 books in February which is a lot more than I expected to read. I managed to read about 10 books a month in the latter half of 2014, so it’s nice that I’m already exceeding that reading rate in 2015. My initial goal for this year (in my own mind) was 75 books (40 of which had to be on my TBR list before 1/1/15), but I’m well on my way to that already. Maybe I’ll have to reevaluate!

