toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week I’m listing my top ten books from my childhood. I’ve decided to go really young with this and choose some of the earliest books I remember reading because I talk about 9-12/YA books a lot on this blog.

1. My Naughty Little Sister by Dorothy Edwards – I loved these books when I was younger. I remember loving the stories in which she curled her hair to have ringlets, bit Father Christmas, and had her hair cut.

2. Owl Babies by Martin Waddell – Whenever I hear someone reading this to their child in the bookshop where I work it feels so familiar.

3. Black Beauty by Anna Sewell – Okay, so this is still one of my favourite books. I love horse stories, and this makes me cry every time I read it.

4. The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle – I still have a chocolate caterpillar birthday cake every year and on my twenty-first birthday a friend gave me hungry caterpillar birthday card. I’m not even sorry.

the-very-hungry-caterpillar

5. Topsy and Tim Go Shopping by Jean Adamson – I’m fairly sure this is no longer in print, although a lot of the other titles and some newer titles were relaunched in 2003. This was my favourite Topsy and Tim story. I’m not sure why exactly!

6. Elmer by David McKee – I used to read this a lot and even had an Elmer soft toy.

7. The Suitcase Kid by Jacqueline Wilson – I think this was the first Jacqueline Wilson book I read and it’s still my favourite.

8. The Terrific Times Tables Book by Kate Petty and Jennie Maizels – This is unfortunately not in print any more, but there are a number of used copies available online. I loved this book when I was younger. It has highly detailed illustrations and lots of flaps and other moving parts making it really interactive and a great way of learning the times tables up to 12×12.

terrific times tables

9. The BFG by Roald Dahl – Matilda is my all-time favourite Dahl book, but  the BFG comes a close second. I’m pretty sure I remember listening to it on audio cassette as I fell asleep, but it’s not a very strong memory.

10. The Nancy Drew series by Carolyn Keene – It was impossible to get hold of all of these, but I read every one my local library had and loved them. They’re part of what sparked my love of crime fiction.

This list is a bit of a mixed bag, but I had fun trying to remember the books I loved as a child. Let me know your favourites in the comments, or leave me a link to your own list.

