I can’t believe it’s the end of the month again already. March seems to have flown past and this is reflected in my reading this month – I haven’t read nearly as much as I hoped to.

1. Allegiant by Veronica Roth – I can absolutely understand why so many people dislike this final book in the Divergent Trilogy. I have to say, I found the story predictable and boring and the ending was highly unsatisfying. I really wanted to like this because the idea behind the trilogy is great, but it just didn’t quite do it for me.

the catalyst

2. The Catalyst by Helena Coggan – I first saw this in the free paper I get on the bus every morning and was intrigued by the synopsis and by the fact that the author is only fifteen years old. I enjoyed the plot and the world is fascinating. I’m looking forward to the sequel as I still have so many questions about this world.

3. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness – Adapted from ideas left by the late Siobhan Dowd, Ness tells a wonderful story about coming to terms with the loss of a loved one. A potent combination of the supernatural and human struggle, this book literally took my breath away.

the art of being normal

4. The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson – I bought this while I was  in London a few weeks ago as I happened to see a table of signed copies in Waterstones Piccadilly. I’m glad I didn’t wait any longer to read it. This is an insightful portrayal of two transgender teenagers who are trying to work through issues of coming out, navigating relationships, and dealing with family issues. I really liked that there was more to their stories than the issue of gender and the ending was absolutely perfect for me. A must-read!

5. Are We There Yet? by David Levithan  – I borrowed this as an ebook from my local library service. It is a story about two siblings who don’t get on but are tricked into going on holiday together by their parents. Whilst this isn’t my favourite Levithan book, it’s a enjoyable read and I liked the fact that it focuses so closely on a sibling relationship, particularly between two brothers. We often see books about sisters, but there aren’t so many which really explore the emotional bond between brothers.

6. The Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett – This is a childhood classic that I somehow missed out on, so I downloaded it as a free ebook. It’s a charming story of kind and clever young girl who loses her devoted father. This is a little dated for today’s audience, but a sweet and moral read nonetheless.

half wild

7. Half Wild by Sally Green – I was so excited to read this! I was at work when we got our first batch of copies in and I fangirled a lot. In front of my boss. This is the second in a trilogy (you can read my review of the first book Half Bad here) and I actually thought it was even better than the first book. I’m hopefully going to do a full review for this soon so I’ll save my thoughts for that, but I LOVED IT and can’t believe I have to wait a whole year to finish Nathan’s story.

8. Half Lies by Sally Green – this technically doesn’t count as a separate book as it is a short story that was printed at the back of my copy of Half Wild. It was released as an ebook before this though, so I’m counting it anyway! It is told in the form of journal entries by Gabriel’s sister Michele and gives us some background for the character of Gabriel and some explanation of how he lost his Gift – something that is key to the plot of the second book. I am glad this was printed as extra content in my copy of Half Wild as I probably wouldn’t have gone out of my way to read it otherwise. (Note: this extra content is only printed in Waterstones exclusive copies of the paperback, to the best of my knowledge).

Despite not reading as much as I wanted to, I’m very pleased with my reading choices this month as I enjoyed pretty much everything I read and found a couple of new favourites. Next month, I would like to read more books from my current TBR pile as I didn’t do so well with that in March. I still hope to get my overall list down to 40 TBR by the end of the year so I have a way to go yet!

Let me know your thoughts on any of these titles, if you’ve read them or want to read them. I’m falling a little behind with reviews and I can’t possible review every book I read but I hope to review a couple of these in full over the next few weeks. If there’s any one you’d particularly like to read a full review of then let me know.

