toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week they’re asking for my top ten summer reads. I don’t usually tailor my reading to the season, but I’ve attempted to come up with a list of good light reads which I think would be good for relaxing on the beach or by the pool.

1. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart

This book has pretty much everything you could want from a summer read: a prestigious academy with a secret society, a kick-ass feminist protagonist and a fun plot.

2. Saskia’s Journey by Theresa Breslin

One of my favourite books when I was younger, this is a story about a young girl who goes to stay with her aunt on the Scottish coast and sets about uncovering the secrets of her family’s past. The sea is featured quite heavily in this book and it really transports me to another place, another life.

3. Paper Towns by John Green

I can’t say I loved this book per se, but the underlying concepts are definitely interesting to me. It’s the quintessential YA road-trip book now, and with the film coming out later this year, it’s a perfect choice for summer.

4. Ethan’s Voice by Rachel Carter

This is a really short but charming story about a young boy who doesn’t speak but can’t remember why. See my full review here.

5. The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

I just finished this and loved loved loved it! I can’t say how good this book is, or how frustrating it is that the sequel doesn’t come out for another year, or how much I can see myself getting completely hooked on these characters and their world (let’s be honest, I’m already a lost cause!). It’s Harry Potter-esque fantasy, but which I mean that it feels much the same in  the way it completely drags you into it’s world and politics. Read this book!

the girl at midnight

6. Love Bomb by Jenny McLachlan

A light-hearted summer romance – not to my taste as I don’t really enjoy romance-centric plots, but a good beach read.

7. Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

This is a very readable story with a likeable protagonist, Simon. Albertalli creates a perfect balance between romance and hard-hitting themes such as blackmail and the issue of coming out. Reminiscent of John Green and Rainbow Rowell, I really enjoyed this book. [My review].

8. We Are All Made of Molecules by Susin Nielsen

I’m going to post a full review of this book tomorrow, but it’s a wonderful story about a blended family (father and son moving in with mother and daughter) and the difficulties of this change in circumstances. The ending is a little corny, but in a good way! A great read for summer.

9. Don’t Even Think About It by Sarah Mlynowski

When class 10B have their flu shots they develop the ability to hear each other’s thoughts and all their secrets are thrust out in the open. This is such a fun read.

10. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I’m hoping to reread this over the summer as it’s been over a year since I first read it and it’s one of my favourites. Also a great read for anyone going away to college/university in the autumn.

fangirl edit

I found this list difficult to come up with because I don’t read a lot of contemporary/summery reads generally. I am trying to change that, and there are books on my TBR which I suspect would have fitted this list perfectly!

