I’m borrowing this idea from Jane Emily at Beyond Seventeen Reviews. These are books I would like not only to read but also to own at some point.

The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M Danforth

miseducation

Set in rural Montana in the early 1990s, emily m. danforth’s The Miseducation of Cameron Post is a powerful and widely acclaimed YA coming-of-age novel in the tradition of the classic Annie on My Mind. Cameron Post feels a mix of guilt and relief when her parents die in a car accident. Their deaths mean they will never learn the truth she eventually comes to-that she’s gay. Orphaned, Cameron comes to live with her old-fashioned grandmother and ultraconservative aunt Ruth. There she falls in love with her best friend, a beautiful cowgirl. When she’s eventually outed, her aunt sends her to God’s Promise, a religious conversion camp that is supposed to “cure” her homosexuality. At the camp, Cameron comes face to face with the cost of denying her true identity.

I have heard a lot of good things about this book and although it doesn’t seem to be widely available in the UK anymore, it is still in print. I have never read a book about someone sent to be ‘cured’ of their homosexuality, so I am interested to read this. It is also particularly fitting this week as I am taking part in the LGBT Readathon.

The Crane Wife by Patrick Ness

the crane wife

The extraordinary happens everyday. One night, George Duncan is woken by a noise in his garden. Impossibly, a great white crane has tumbled to earth, shot through its wing by an arrow. Unexpectedly moved, George helps the bird, and from the moment he watches it fly away, his life is transformed. The next day, a beautiful woman called Kumiko walks into his shop and begins to tell him the most extraordinary story. Wise, romantic, magical and funny, The Crane Wife is a celebration of the disruptive and redemptive power of love.

I have loved everything else Patrick Ness has written so I am hopeful that I will enjoy this just as much!

My wishlist just keeps getting longer…

