toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we’re listing our top ten potential book to film adaptations.

1. The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

the girl at midnight

I only read this recently, but it’s one of my favourite books of the year so far. There’s plenty of action, tension, and I’d love to see the characters brought to life.

2. Murder Most Unladylike/Arsenic for Tea by Robin Stevens

I can definitely see these inspiring a TV series for children about the detective skills of Daisy and Hazel.

3. The Old Kingdom books by Garth Nix

The world-building is so brilliant in these books that it’s like a film playing in my head. I’d love to see these as full-length films. Especially Mogget.

4. The Chestnut Hill series by Lauren Brooke

chestnut hill the new class

I’m a sucker for a good horse story and the idea of a boarding school series based around horses really appealed to thirteen-year-old me and 22-year-old me! These would make a great TV show – like a modern day The Saddle Club, but with far better acting and, please, no singing!

5. The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan

I know, there are two films already, but when are they going to make the rest of them?!

6. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

There’s so much going on in this book: magic, romance, action… it would make a fantastic film.

7. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

This is one of my favourite contemporary YA books, and I’d love to see it done well.

8. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I'll give you the sun

I only read this last week but I absolutely fell in love with Noah and Jude, the relationship between them as twins, and mostly their flaws which is what makes them feel so real as characters. I’d love to live in their world a little longer.

9. The Famous Five by Enid Blyton

There have been a number of adaptations of this, but I’d love to see a TV series redone with one episode for each of the books, which stays true to the original text, but makes use of modern film-making techniques.

10. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

I absolutely loved this book and it would work so well as a film with all the magic and illusions.This seems to be a popular choice on people’s TTT lists this week so maybe…?

Let me know if you’d like to see any of these made in to films/TV shows or offer your own suggestions!

