Last month really flew by for me; I feel like I hardly had time to read at all, but apparently I managed to get through nine books – helped by my participation in the #LGBTReadathon which pushed me to read quicker than I had been doing.

So, I’ll stop rambling and tell you what I read this month:

1. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Somehow I missed out on this one at school – I’m probably one of the only people to reach the age of 21 without reading this book! – but my younger sister is currently doing her GCSEs and kept pestering me to read it so that I could help her revise. I eventually did and I really enjoyed it. I can see why it’s such a popular book for the school curriculum as there’s so much going on and so many issues to consider. Probably not something I’ll ever read again, but I’m pleased to have joined the rest of the country in having read this American classic.

2 & 3. The Scorch Trials and The Death Cure by James Dashner

Having now finished the Maze Runner trilogy, I’m really not sure I liked it that much. Whilst the first book was exciting and sparked my curiosity about this world and what could have happened to make it like this, I sort of lost interest in the story in the sequels. The Scorch Trials felt very much like a copy of The Maze Runner, but set in the desert which I didn’t like; just when I felt like we were going to start getting answers to all the questions posed in book 1, we didn’t. I would have liked to have seen what went on behind the scenes at WICKED prior to the maze. To be honest, if I hadn’t already owned the three books, I probably would have stopped after the first.

4. The Glory by Lauren St. John

the glory

After the disappointment of the Maze Runner books, I wanted something I knew I would enjoy. I have a real love for horse stories, and have previously enjoyed St John’s One Dollar Horse trilogy, so had high hopes for this. Set in the American west following the progress of an epic 1200 mile horse race, this book is full of action and history and it was a thrilling read.

5. The Ice Twins by S. K. Tremayne

This was an unplanned read as I just happened to see a proof at work and decided to pick it up. Kirstie and Lydia are identical and inseparable twins, but Lydia tragically dies in an accident. The family are grieving when Kirstie suddenly starts to insist that she is Lydia and that it was Kirstie who died. This idea intrigued me, but sadly the execution was a little lacking. I was disappointed with the solution to the mystery and felt confused throughout rather than creeped-out/intrigued which is what I hope to get from a psychological thriller/mystery such as this.

6. The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

I loved this book. There is so much to be happy about with this book: the characters are excellently written, with real personality and flaws and relationships I can already feel myself becoming invested in; the plot is water-tight and full of action, well-paced and exciting; the writing itself is a joy to read and never feels stilted – I didn’t find myself wanting to skip boring passages, because there aren’t any! The only downside is that I have to wait  until next year for the sequel.

7. Gracefully Grayson by Ami Polonsky

This was my first book for the LGBT Readathon and it was an enjoyable read with strong central characters, although I would have liked to have seen more of some of them, particularly Paige and Grayson’s other theatre friends. This is a quick read, but a fun one.

8. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Probably one of my favourite books of the year so far. I loved the characters of Noah and Jude and really felt like they were real. I almost didn’t read this book at all because I assumed it was romance-centric based on the blurb and it was only because of the LGBT Readathon that I picked it up at all. I’m really glad I did and will probably go on about it until you’re all bored of hearing about it and start throwing things at me…

9. Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates

everyday sexism

This has been on my wishlist for a while now, and I finally bought it when the new paperback came out. Bates collates the experiences of hundreds of women who have experienced sexism in all forms, from seemingly minor incidents to sexual abuse and rape. It a difficult read in some ways – there were times when I wanted to cry with anger and sadness for the women and girls whose stories are told – but it is also an empowering read as it encourages us to stop making excuses for the everyday incidents which all women experience and to start standing up for ourselves as a unit. Bates addresses the issues of men and feminism, sexism against men, and sexism in the digital age. This is a really important book and one that everyone should read.

What have you been reading recently?

