toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we’re listing our top ten books of 2015 so far! These are in no particular order (I find it nearly impossible to choose favourites) but here are my top ten reads of the first half of this year.

1. Half Bad by Sally Green

This was one of the first books I read in 2015, and it’s a book I had heard a lot of good things about and eventually decided to give it a go. I loved it, and am now stuck in limbo waiting for the third book to be released.

2. The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan

Another early 2015 read, but a really important one for me, emotionally. This is one I will go back to time and time again.

3. Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill

only ever yours

I cannot express how glad I am that I stumbled across this. Thank you Twitter! O’Neill writes with a wonderful fearlessness and understanding of what it’s really like to be a young female. I loved this book so so much and have also been lucky enough to read a proof of her upcoming novel Asking For It which is equally as hard-hitting.

4. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

I don’t know if this counts as it doesn’t come out until August, but I read this a couple of months ago and loved it – as I expected to; come on, it’s Patrick Ness. I don’t want to say anything more about this right now but will be posting a review a couple of weeks before the release date.

5. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Considering I almost didn’t read this at all (the red and black cover brought back memories of a certain period of time in YA fiction when supernatural novels were on trend) I am so glad I did. Firstly, Maas is a fantastic writer and I’m so pleased to have discovered her work. Secondly, the story itself is full of magic and mystery and sexy romance and I can’t wait for the sequel… I’m serious, please don’t make me wait until 2016…

6. The Glory by Lauren St John

I’m a sucker for a good horse novel and this didn’t disappoint. I loved the characters, the unusual setting of the wild west rather than the British showjumping scene, and although it wasn’t as horse-heavy as it could have been for my tastes, the story was so well told I couldn’t help but fall in love with it.

7. The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

the girl at midnight

Another great new fantasy series. Have I mentioned how glad I am that fantasy is making a come back in YA? Well, I am as it’s probably my favourite genre to read. This book has everything I could possibly want: a kick-ass heroine, magic, secrets, a mysterious potential love interest. We have to wait until next year for the second in this series too, unfortunately.

8 and 9. I’ll Give You the Sun and The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

I’ll Give You the SunI so nearly didn’t bother reading this as I thought it was a romance-centric boring summer read. How wrong I was. This is a beautifully woven story about two twins whose lives are pulling apart, but they find themselves drawn back together through art.

The Sky is Everywhere: I picked this up after loving I’ll Give You the Sun, In some ways, this novel is even more beautiful with touching poetry providing the framework for the novel. I don’t usually dog-ear pages, but there were so many wonderful lines I wanted to remember that I couldn’t help myself. My copy is full of turned-down corners. Nelson has a true gift and I will never get enough of her writing

10. The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

Probably the first book I’ve read about being transgender, this book is flawless – or as close to flawless as you’re ever going to get. I would definitely recommend it.

Overall, I definitely feel like I’ve been reading better books in the last couple of months than I did earlier in the year. Maybe my taste is getting better, or maybe there are just more great books being published. Either way, let’s hope things continue in this direction in the second half of the year.

