Once again, June has been a not so good month for blogging. I’m still incredibly busy at work and am so tired by the time I get home that talking about books (having been around books all day) is the last thing I want to do in my rare down time! You can have too much of a good thing, who knew?

That said, I have still been reading, of course, and have managed to get through a total of 11 books this month:

1. The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine Woodfine

clockwork sparrow

This is another fantastic addition to the middle grade mystery genre, following on from Robin Stevens’ success with the Wells and Wong series. Woodfine tells the story of a young girl called Sophie who is wrongly accused of stealing from her employer, the fabulous Sinclair’s department store, before its opening night. With the help of her two friends, she must find the real thief and save the store on opening night.

2. Numbers by Rachel Ward

This has been on my radar for a few months now and the idea of it is intriguing – what if you could look into someone’s eyes and see the date of their death reflected back at you? Unfortunately, this didn’t live up to my expectations and I won’t be rushing to read the second and third parts of the trilogy.

3. Between the Lives by Jessica Shirvington

How this book is not on everyone’s lips I don’t know! Shirvington’s protagonist lives two lives. Every night at midnight she involuntarily switches to the other life with different family, different friends, different expectations. When the barrier between her two lives starts to become more permanent, she realises that she can now make a choice between them and live a normal life. But that choice suddenly becomes even more difficult to make.

4. Asking For It by Louise O’Neill

I was so excited to get my hands on a proof of this. Like, jumping around in the staffroom excited. (It’s ok, my colleagues know I’m strange…) Yet again, O’Neill has addressed a hugely important issue facing young people today in an open and honest way. I love this book for that, if not for its ending (I understand why, but why?). A must read.

5. Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley

magonia

Another fantastic fantasy novel to come out of YA this year. PIrates above the clouds and a magical race of bird people? Yes please. This is so well written and Neil Gaiman recommends it, so what are you waiting for?

6. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

This book is so beautiful and it broke my heart in just the right way. Nelson creates magic with her words and I couldn’t go more than a few pages without being hit over the head by a wonderful sentence or phrase. I can’t wait to see what she does next.

7. Running Girl by Simon Mason

I’ve already made my thoughts on this clear – safe to say I really enjoyed it. See my review here.

8 and 9. Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

After reading A Court of Thorns and Roses, I couldn’t resist going back and trying her earlier work. I wasn’t disappointed; if anything, I loved this more than ACOTAR. Maas is another technically fantastic writer and a new favourite.

10. Clever Polly and the Stupid Wolf by Catherine Storr

clever polly

I picked this up as it’s the Waterstones Children’s Book of the Month for July and I like to read all of these so that I know what I’m talking about at work! This is a wonderfully witty collection of stories about a very clever girl called Polly and a very stupid wolf. Drawing on traditional stories such as Little Red Riding Hood and The Three Little Pigs, this collection is perfect for younger readers. And the short story format makes it great for reluctant readers too.

11. My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

This had been on my reading list for a while and I finally picked it up on a whim when I was rushing to leave the house and needed a new book. It was the first one on my shelf that caught my eye. I enjoyed this book, particularly the depiction of depression which felt very raw and very honest. I think it is easy when thinking about suicide to gloss over the depth of feeling, the complete hopelessness that puts someone in that position. Warga tackles this issue really well, and the development of the protagonist Aysel is captured flawlessly.

That’s it for June. Have you read anything fantastic this month?

