You may recall at the beginning of the year I wrote about my problem of having too many unread books and my desire to cut this down to a manageable TBR pile (If not, you can read about that here).

I set the challenge to myself to read half the books on my TBR list by the end of the year. Well, I’m pleased to say that I am very close to meeting that goal already; either by reading or unhauling these books, my original list now stands at 42 books. Yay!

Now, for the not so good news… I have been adding to this list and although I have been a lot more picky about which books I choose to add to my shelves this year, my current TBR stands at 64 books. It’s better than it was, but I still have a way to go before this becomes manageable!

You might wonder why I care so much. It’s difficult to explain, but it’s a mental thing. It’s not so much that I don’t want to have any books on my TBR and have nothing left to read – it’s not about completing a goal in that sense. Rather, it helps my head-space to have less clutter around me. Unread books are overwhelming; I feel a great pressure to read them. I would love to reach a point where I no longer feel guilty for acquiring new books and don’t have to worry to much about which book to read next.

So far this year I’ve read 65 books, which is around 11 books a month. Hopefully I can keep this up towards the end of the year without acquiring too many new titles…

Did you set any goals for the year? If so, how are you getting on?

