I haven’t really bought many books over the past few months, relying mainly on proofs and reading copies to fuel my book addiction. However, July brought with it so much great new publishing that I couldn’t resist! So here’s a round up of the books I got in July/early August.

Bought: IMG_0180

How to be Bad by E. Lockhart, Lauren Miracle and Sarah Mlynowski – I was lucky enough to meet E. Lockhart when she visited the Waterstones where I work as part of her road-trip. I picked up a copy of this with a bookplate signed by all three authors.

IMG_0184

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – I’ve heard so much about this and can’t wait to get stuck in.

To Hold the Bridge by Garth Nix – a new collection of stories from Garth Nix? I’m in.

In Darkling Wood by Emma Carroll – I also had the opportunity to spend the day with the lovely Emma Carroll when she visited our store for a signing. We talked about having too many books to read and I promised I’d get around to IDW soon! (I will!)

IMG_0185

Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne – I’ve already read this and loved it and written a review.

First Class Murder by Robin Stevens – You guys know how much I love Murder Most Unladylike and Arsenic for Tea. I can’t wait to read this next mystery.

IMG_0181

Half a War by Joe Abercrombie – the final book in the Shattered Sea trilogy. I now own all three signed hardback editions and I’m hoping this instalment will be as good as the previous two books.

Read Me Like a Book by Liz Kessler – I’ve heard a lot about this book and can’t wait to see if it lives up to the hype.

Proofs:

IMG_0182The Last Leaves Falling by Sarah Benwell – I’m going to see a panel at Bath Children’s Literature Festival in October which Sarah is speaking on so I thought I’d better swot up! In all seriousness, this is another book I’ve heard a lot about.

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven – I picked up this (signed and numbered!) proof when I visited another Waterstones store for visual merchandising training last month. I’ve now read it and really enjoyed it even thought it’s such a sad-happy book.

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon – This proof came wrapped in bubble wrap. No, seriously. I let my sister read this before me and it’s actually sort of pushed her back into reading again. She says it’s really good and I’m hoping to read this really soon.

Unbecoming by Jenny Downham – I love her other books and am so excited for this to come out. I requested this proof from the publisher, David Fickling Books and can’t wait to read it.

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld – a customer actually recommended this to me so I picked up the proof we had lying around in the staff room.

The Four-Dimensional Human: Ways of Being in the Digital World by Laurence Scott – I know, gasp: non-fiction. I studied a Digital Humanities module in my final year of university and this book called to that interest.

So… that’s a lot of books! Thankfully I’m putting up a new bookshelf tomorrow to accommodate my ever-growing collection.

