author spotlight maasSarah J. Maas is an author I only recently discovered. I had, of course, heard a lot about her and the Throne of Glass series, but had never actually read anything by her until earlier this year when I picked up the first book in her new series, A Court of Thorns and Roses, and promptly fell in love with her writing.

The Books:

The Throne of Glass Series

throne of glass

Celaena Sardothian is an eighteen year-old assassin who bargains her services in exchange for her freedom from imprisonment which would eventually kill her. She finds herself in the service of the crown prince of Adarlan and the history she begins to discover changes her life forever.

  • Throne of Glass
  • Crown of Midnight
  • Heir of Fire
  • Queen of Shadows (out next week, September 1st)
  • The Assassin’s Blade (collection of novella, originally published as ebooks)

It has been announced that there will be a total of six books in the series, excluding the novellas.

A Court of Thorns and Roses Trilogy

ACOTAR

Feyre is a huntress upon whom the survival of her entire family depends. However, when she accidentally kills a Faerie she is is thrust into a new world of magic and politics. Based loosely on the classic fairytale, The Beauty and the Beast, this is a wonderful new series with plenty of magic, danger and romance.

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses
  • Untitled 2 (expected Spring 2016)

Books I’ve Read:

  • Throne of Glass
  • Crown of Midnight
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses

Why I love Sarah J. Maas:

When I was a child I used to read a LOT of fantasy series and would choose fantasy over any other genre if forced to pick. As I got older and started having to read books for school and college and, later, university, I slowed down my reading for pleasure until I was barely reading at all outside of my studies. Since graduating a year ago, I have slowly been rediscovering reading and have rekindled my love for the fantasy genre. I picked up A Court of Thorns and Roses on a whim, unsure if I would like it because it appeared to be very romance-focused which is not something I usually go for. However, I was quickly drawn into the wonderfully complex plot and richly imagined world of the book and couldn’t put it down.

Unable to wait for the second book to be released, I decided to read the Throne of Glass series and checked the first two books out of the local library the next time I was there. Again, I was captivated by the complexity and rich details as well as the depth with which the characters are portrayed.

I love the fact that Maas writes ‘strong’ female protagonists so well in her books. By ‘strong’ I do not just mean kick-ass (although both Celaena and Feyre are certainly that!) but well-written. They are not perfect; they make mistakes, have unlikeable character traits, can be selfish and unkind and reckless and a hundred other things. That is what I love about the way Maas writes her characters; they are truly three-dimensional with motives and uncertainties and real emotions. It’s such a difficult thing to do well, but she does so.

Despite her drawing on fairytales as the inspiration for her books – something I’m usually a little wary of as I find fairytale retellings tedious at best – she uses these as mere foundations and builds layer upon layer on top creating new worlds and characters. The fairytale is there, visible in the background if you know what to look for, but the story is very much her own, and that’s the way it should be done.

Twitter: @SJMaas

Website: http://www.sarahjmaas.com

Other social media links: http://sarahjmaas.com/find-sarah-online/

