BR_Award

Something a little different today! I was nominated by The Book Goddess for the Blogger Recognition Award – thank you! So, without further ado, I’ll get right to it.

The Rules:

  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.
  • Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post.
  • Make sure to also attach the award itself! (You can do this by right-clicking, saving, and uploading the image above).
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.
  • Provide a link to the original post on Edge of Night. That way, anyone can find the original guidelines and post if needed (here).

How my blog started:

I’ve been blogging on and off for a few years now, and this blog originally started out as a bit of a mixed bag. I posted anything that came into my head and focused more on topical posts than book-related posts. I found it very difficult to keep to a regular schedule and during my university years this blog was neglected for months at a time. I briefly moved to tumblr (thinking, I don’t know why, that it was a better platform for the type of blog I wanted to run…) but quickly returned here. In December 2014, I started posting about books more seriously and in January 2015 I took part in my first readathon which gave me the kick I needed to start posting more frequently and more regularly. I became a book blogger.

Advice for new bloggers:

Try to post a few times a week, but don’t feel pressured if you’re not feeling up to it. I still struggle with my blogging schedule sometimes; I work full time with long travel hours and sometimes lack the time and motivation for blogging. I’m trying to be kinder to myself about it – it’s not the end of the world, after all. This is supposed to be fun!

On a similar note, scheduling posts is your new best friend. I usually write a bunch of posts at once and then schedule them for the correct days which takes the pressure off when I’m tired or not feeling it.

I nominate: 

  1. The Galaxial Word
  2. The Wild Bookworms
  3. Caffeinated Bibliophile
  4. Life is Sweet in Books
  5. Chells and Books
  6. Books, Tea and a Onesie
  7. ItIsTrish
  8. Mrs Red’s Reviews
  9. Macarons and Paperbacks
  10. Lipsyy Lost and Found
  11. The Bookish Universe
  12. It’s All About Books
  13. Books Baking and Blogging
  14. Wrapped up in Books
  15. Bridget’s Bookish Blog
