toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is : Top Ten Characters You Just Didn’t Click With. I actually found this really difficult because I rarely dislike characters enough to remember them!

1. Thomas from The Maze Runner Series by James Dashner

image from mazerunner.wikia.com
image from mazerunner.wikia.com

I don’t know if this is because I didn’t enjoy the series, or if I didn’t enjoy it partly because of Thomas’ character. I just found him to be completely unrelatable. He never questioned his role as leader despite being the new kid, he refused to listen to anyone else throughout the series, and his lack of meaningful relationships with other characters meant that I struggled to figure him out as a character.

2. Tally from the Uglies Series by Scott Westerfeld

I just found her really irritating and it was difficult to understand her obsession with becoming ‘pretty’ (which I guess was the point). I actually like this series, but more for its ideas than for Tally as a protagonist.

3. Toby from the Geek Girl Series by Holly Smale

His obsession with Harriet and the way he follows her around all the time and knows all this weird detailed facts about her life is just plain creepy…

4. Clary from The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare

image from shadowhunters.wikia.com
image from shadowhunters.wikia.com

Admittedly, I have only read the first book and half of the second, but I just don’t get on with her as a protagonist. There’s just nothing there to grab my attention.

5. Rose from The Catalyst by Helena Coggan

She’s a very typical ‘spunky heroine’ type and I didn’t connect with her on an individual level.

6. Seraphina from Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

As I’ve mentioned before, I struggled to get to know her as a character. She’s secretive in a way which makes the reader feel isolated and out of the loop which I didn’t enjoy.

7. Dan from Crow Moon by Anna McKerrow

I didn’t enjoy his narrative voice; he’s arrogant, selfish, and takes a lot of things for granted.

That’s it for this week. I really can’t think of any more characters I didn’t like enough to remember them for it. I’m sure when I start reading other people’s lists I’ll remember a few more!

Which characters did you struggle to make a connection with? Let me know in the comments or feel free to add a link to your own TTT post and I’ll give it a read!

