August has been a shockingly slow month for me reading-wise. I’ve found myself in a real slump with no motivation to read despite having so many great books on my TBR. I only managed to read four books this month:

1. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

all the bright placesThis is a book I’ve heard a lot about and it had been on my wishlist for a while despite me being unsure whether it was really my type of book. I’ll be posting a full review next Monday, but I really enjoyed this.

2. Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan

The third book in the Percy Jackson series. I read this as a ebook download from my local library service whilst staying with my grandma.

3. Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

The first in a new series based around the Norse Gods. I loved the narrative voice of the protagonist Magnus and can’t wait to enjoy more of his adventures. I read this as an uncorrected proof and the real thing will be out on the 6th October in the UK. I hope to write a full review before then!

4. Paper Towns by John Green

This was a reread because I’m starting up a YA book group at Waterstones  in Bristol where I work and this is our first book for discussion. It’s been 18 months since I last read this so needed a refresher before next Saturday. I actually enjoyed it a lot more than I remember doing it the first time.

I’m still not really feeling like reading much and I’m sort of going to go with it for now. I’m hoping to start writing again this month so as long as I do one or the other I’ll be happy! I hope you all had more successful reading in August than I did.

